Five & Five – Standout Story

Standout Story is a great up and coming band out of Indianapolis, seemingly a hotbed for recent talent having also interviewed female-fronted outfit Noctura. This pop-punk band is in the middle of making new music and we had a chance to speak to guitarist Joshua Hurt to find out what they’re up to.

Standout Story is:

Joe Miller – Vocals

Joshua Hurt – Guitar

Ryan Park – Bass

Nate Yates – Drums

Part I:

1. EMURG: How did you come up with the band name?

SOS: Funny story, our first band name was White Stallion. We named the band after my car that had flipped over after a show we played last year. We knew we needed a new name so we started racking our brains for anything we could think of. It didn’t hit me until Bobby (Former drummer for Standout Story) sent me a text and said we need to make tonight’s practice stand out, and right then and there I knew the band name had to be Standout Story.

2. EMURG: What artists/bands/songs/albums influenced you?

SOS: We listen to all different types of music in the band but we all love rock and can agree on it. Many artists influence us but to name a few that have influenced us in a big way are Foo Fighters, Coheed and Cambria, and Red Hot Chili Peppers. We love what they do and we want to branch off of that to create the Standout Story “sound”.

3. EMURG: What are you listening to right now?

SOS: I am always listening to the Foo Fighters or Led Zeppelin and some Jimi Hendrix here and there, but have been paying more attention to the newer artists such as The Black Keys and starting to like them as well. The drummer Nathaniel Yates listens to more metal music such as Parkway Drive. Joe, the lead singer, listens to a lot of different music whether it be rock or country. One of his favorite bands is Say Anything. Ryan, our bassist, listens to a lot of different music as well but listens to a lot of metalcore bands such as Asking Alexandria.

4. EMURG: What’s your favorite show/performance been as a band?

SOS: Our favorite show that we’ve played so far was at the Murat Old National Centre in the Deluxe Room. We played for the X103 Presents PictureYes’ Album Release Show. I-Exist and Dead Ringers also played that night. It was the first night we had merch available and we sold just about everything. We had a huge crowd there for us, our fans are very loyal and supportive. We, along with the other bands who played that night, actually set an attendance record for that room. We played great and so did all the other bands that night. Such an incredible experience.

5. EMURG: If I want people to remember one song from our band, it would be…

SOS: I’d say Beer Money, Champagne Dreams. This song is sort of our anthem. It says that we have big dreams and we intend to work as hard as we can to get there.

Part II:

1. EMURG: I hear that you guys are currently in the studio recording some new music even though it feels like you just left the studio. Can you give us an idea of what your new effort will sound like?

SOS: Well, we are going back to the studio within the next month or two to cut a few brand new songs, one of which nobody has heard yet. These songs that we are going to record are going to show yet another side of Standout Story. “Follow Me” is a very hard-driven rock song that is sure to leave hard rock fans wanting more, and “Mr. Prescott” is a creepy tale that showcases some musicianship from the band and will have you singing along. We are dying for our fans to hear the new material!

2. EMURG: Your range of sound is pretty diverse…anything from pop-punk on “Beer Money, Champagne Dreams” to something of an old grunge sound in “Can You Hear Me Screaming?” Are you guys trying to bridge together all of your influences or is it simply a natural progression of your sound?

SOS: It’s more of us all bridging together our diverse influences into our music. We do have a pop-punk sound and some blues and funk but we want to rock while were doing it. I think that’s a good start to describing our style and genre (laughs).

3. EMURG: You recently got a chance to play with Smile Empty Soul, a band that many of us here at EMURG are big fans of. What was it like to play with a nationally recognized band? Are you guys proud of where you are considering your band is not even really a full year old?

SOS: Sean Danielson was great that night. He did just a solo performance of some Smile Empty Soul songs and also a few of his own solo work. It was a great opportunity for us to have played with him. We are very proud of where we are at right now not even being a year old. We have already played some nice venues like 8 Seconds Saloon, The Murat, and we’re playing at the 247 Sky Bar Live this Saturday July 14. During this year we have met many great bands and people such as Alan Johnson. He has helped us out tremendously with our live performance and he is the one who engineered and produced, mixed and mastered our first EP “Standout Story”. We recorded that at Static Shack Studios with Alan. Also we have gained the most loyal fans in the city. We love our fans so much and can’t thank them enough for their continued support.

4. EMURG: What are your touring plans in the coming months? Are you deciding to stay closer to home or do you plan to play other areas?

SOS: We haven’t thought much about a recent tour yet, but we do plan to start playing shows a little further from home, hitting some venues in the surrounding states.

5. EMURG: What do you have to say to your fans and also what do you have to say to those EMURGers who haven’t heard your music just yet?

SOS: Again, we love all of you and it is the greatest feeling in the world having you guys up front by the stage screaming our lyrics back at us. We can’t thank you guys enough for your continued, loyal support. To the EMURGers who haven’t heard us yet, we would love for you guys to take a listen to a song or two and tell us what you think. We have a little something for everybody in our music. Thank you for the interview!

We always love a great interview. Thanks to Standout Story for stopping by and be sure to check out their new music. In the meantime, you can buy their debut EP on Amazon or you can follow their progression on the new music at their Facebook page.